Novel methods for electromagnetic simulation and design

Among the many challenges facing designers of advanced communications systems is the interaction between antennas, other electromagnetic sources and the platform itself. Such systems have reached a stage of complexity that design by experimentation is becoming impractical. Thus, in order to deploy functioning systems, to avoid electromagnetic interference, and to add new functionality, accurate computational approaches will be required. These techniques will have to be sufficiently robust to cope with a broad range of frequencies and detailed geometric models, and they will have to be sufficiently fast to allow design by simulation. Our work is aimed at helping to create such tools.

Support

This research project is supported by the Office of the Assistant Secretary of Defense for Research and Engineering and AFOSR through the National Security Science and Engineering Faculty Fellowships (NSSEFF) program.

People


   Prof Leslie Greengard
  Leslie Greengard
  greengard@cims.nyu.edu
  Principal Investigator
 

 

 

 


Michael O'Neil
  Michael O'Neil
  oneil@cims.nyu.edu
  Courant Instructor

 

 

 


Sivaram Ambikasaran
  Sivaram Ambikasaran
  sivaram@cims.nyu.edu
  Courant Instructor

 

 

 


Carlos Borges
  Carlos Borges
  borges@cims.nyu.edu
  Postdoctoral Fellow

 

 

 


Jun Lai
  Jun Lai
  lai@cims.nyu.edu
  Postdoctoral Fellow

 

 

 


Travis Askham
  Travis Askham
  askham@cims.nyu.edu
  Graduate student

 

 

 



  Manas Rachh
  manasrachh@gmail.com
  Graduate student

 

 

 

  • External Collaborators
  • Alex Barnett (Dartmouth)
    Miguel Ferrando-Bataller (Universidad Politecnica de Valencia)
    Charles L. Epstein (U. Penn)
    Thomas Hagstrom (SMU)
    Shidong Jiang (NJIT)
    June-Yub Lee (Ehwa Womans U.)
    Eric Michielssen (U. Michigan)
    Vladimir Rokhlin (Yale)
    Felipe Valdes (graduate student, U. Michigan, EECS)
    Felipe Vico (Universidad Politecnica de Valencia)
  • Alumni
  • Kenneth L. Ho (Stanford)
    Andras Pataki (Knight Capital Group)
    Josef Sifuentes (Texas A&M)
    Andreas Kloeckner (Univ. Of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign)
    Zydrunas Gimbutas (NIST, Boulder)